Amputee

There was pain
Before this.
Great and terrible pain
Now gone.
Like a limb removed,
A need,
A necessity,
For life.
That pain hurt
And angered me;
It never let me alone.
Now gone.
Learning to live
Again.
Learning to be
Myself
Once more.
But I still feel
The phantom pains,
The limb
That is there
But gone.
A need for this
Life I have here.
And I miss it
That part of me.
For walking
This journey.
That pain.
I won’t take it back
Pain broke
My loyalty.
I wait
And wait
For the heel to be Healed
For the limb to be restored
To this body
My own.

Let me know what you think!

